Laws and Legislation

laws-and-legislation-us-map-by-state

Forty-five states, the District of Columbia and five Canadian provinces currently offer some type of credential to professionals in the massage and bodywork field - usually licensure, certification or registration.

To view requirements click on a state or province listed below.

Note: Even if your state or province is listed here, check with city or county officials for information about local requirements and ordinances.


Alabama
Close
Alabama
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 1,400
Phone (334) 420-7233
Website http://www.almtbd.state.al.us
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 650 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $100 every 2 years
CEUs Required 16 every 2 years
Massage Liability Insurance Required
Alabama Massage Liability Insurance Alabama Massage Liability Insurance
Arizona
Close
Arizona
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 9,946
Phone (602) 542-8604
Web Site http://www.massageboard.az.gov
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 700 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written 
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $95 every 2 years (This happens every other year on the birth date of the licensee.)
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years 
Arkansas
Close
Arkansas
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 2,900
Phone (501) 683-1448
Web Site http://www.arkansasmassagetherapy.com/
Title Massage Therapist or Master Massage Therapist or Massage Therapy Instructor
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered MBLEx or NCETMB, and Arkansas State Law Exam
Renewal Fee $80 every 2 years
CEUs Required 18 every 2 years
British Columbia
Close
British Columbia
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 3,300
Phone (604) 736-3404
Website http://cmtbc.bc.ca
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Registration
Required Education Competency Based
Written or Practical Exam Written and Practical
Exam Administered Registration Examination
Renewal Fee CAN $400 a year
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years
California
Close
California
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 42,890
Phone (916) 669-5336
Web Site http://www.camtc.org
Title

Voluntary Certification in effect. Contact state or local entity for information.

Type of Credential Certification CMP/CMT
Required Education

250 hours for CMP; 500 hours for CMT

Written or Practical Exam Not required
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM and MBLEx recognized, although not required
Renewal Fee $150/biennial
CEUs Required N/A
Colorado
Close
Colorado
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 12,482
Phone (303) 894-7800
Web Site

www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/massagetherapists

Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Registration
Required Education 500 hours from an accredited school pursuant to state rules
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $79 every 2 years
CEUs Required N/A
Massage Liability Insurance Required
Colorado Massage Liability Insurance Colorado Massage Liability Insurance
Connecticut
Close
Connecticut
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 3,024
Phone (860) 509-7603
Website http://www.dph.state.ct.us
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCBTMB
Renewal Fee $250 every two years
CEUs Required 24 every 4 years
Delaware
Close
Delaware
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 1,304
Phone (302) 744-4500
Web Site

Home: http://www.dpr.delaware.gov

Licensing Law: http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c053/index.shtml

Rules and Regulations: http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title24/5300.shtml

Title Massage Technician or Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Certification or License
Required Education 300 hours for CMT/200 hours for Temporary CMT/500 hours for LMT
Written or Practical Exam Written or Practical
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $118 every 2 years
CEUs Required 12 every 2 years for CMT/24 every 2 years for LMT
Florida
Close
Florida
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 39,232
Phone (850) 245-4161
Web Site http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/massage
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM, NESL or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $100 every two years
CEUs Required 24 hours, which must include: 12 hours live classroom instruction, 2 hours prevention of medical errors, 2 hours Florida Laws and Rules and 2 hours professional ethics. In addition to the 24 hours, a licensee must complete at least a one (1) hour HIV/AIDS course.
Georgia
Close
Georgia
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 6,216
Phone (478) 207-2440
Web Site http://www.sos.georgia.gov/plb/massage
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written and Practical
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $75 every 2 years
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years
Hawaii
Close
Hawaii
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 7,300
Phone (808) 586-3000
Web Site http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/pvl/boards/massage
Title Massage Therapist 
Type of Credential License
Required Education 570 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered State exam
Renewal Fee $120 every 2 years
CEUs Required 0
Idaho
Close

Idaho
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: N/A

**State licensure is now in effect. Licensure by grandfathering will not be available after July 1, 2014.**

Phone (208) 334-3233
Website www.ibol.idaho.gov
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License. Until July 1, 2014, the state board may issue a license to any individual who meets one of these Idaho massage licensing requirements.
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETM, NCETMB and MBLEx
Renewal Fee $75
CEUs Required 6 CEUs per year
Illinois
Close
Illinois
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 9,063
Phone (800) 560-6420
Website http://www.idfpr.com 
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $175 every 2 years
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years
Indiana
Close
Indiana
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 4,081
Phone (317) 234-2051
Website http://www.in.gov/pla/massage.htm
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Certification (Effective July 1, 2011, criminal background checks are required for all practitioners applying for an initial license. Any application received by the office with a postmark on or after  July 1, 2011 shall submit to a national criminal history background check at the cost of the practitioner. Further details on procedures for obtaining a criminal history background may be found at www.pla.in.gov.
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETM, NCETMB, MBLEx or NCE from the American Medical Massage Association
Renewal Fee $150 every four years
CEUs Required N/A
Massage Liability Insurance Required
Indiana Massage Liability Insurance Indiana Massage Liability Insurance
Iowa
Close
Iowa
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 2,954
Phone (515) 281-6959
Website http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 600 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $60 every two years
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years
Kentucky
Close
Kentucky
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 2,500
Phone (502) 564-3296, ext. 239
Website http://bmt.ky.gov
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 600 hours
Written or Practical Exam N/A
Exam Administered MBLEx or other exam approved by board, as well as Ohio and New York state licensing exams
Renewal Fee $100 every 2 years ($150 and $200 late fee)
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years (3 must be in professional ethics)
Louisiana
Close
Louisiana
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 2,100
Phone (225) 756-3488
Web Site http://www.LABMT.org
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours, consisting of 325 hours dedicated to the study of massage therapy techniques and clinical practicum-related modalities; 125 hours dedicated to the study of anatomy and physiology; and 50 hours of discretionary related coursework, including but not limited to hydrotherapy, business practices and professional ethics, health and hygiene, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid.
Written or Practical Exam Written and Oral
Exam Administered NCETMB, MBLEx or NCCAOM
Renewal Fee $125 each year
CEUs Required 12 each year
Maine
Close
Maine
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 2,490
Phone (207) 624-8626
Website http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $40 each year
CEUs Required 0
Maryland
Close
Maryland
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 3,871
Phone (410) 764-4738
Website http://www.mdmassage.org or www.dhmh.maryland.gov/massage
Title Licensed Massage Therapist or Registered Massage Practitioner
Type of Credential License or Registration
Required Education Minimum 500 hours for RMP and minimum 500 hours plus 60 college credits for LMT
Written or Practical Exam Practical Examination and Maryland Jurisprudence exam
Exam Administered NCETM, NCETMB, MBLEx or NCCAOM-Asian Bodywork Exam; and the required MD State Jurisprudence Exam
Renewal Fee

$250 every 2 years (RMP); $250 plus $36 MD Healthcare Commission fee ($286) every 2 years (LMT) effective July 1, 2013. Late renewal fee: $450 (RMP) or $450 plus $36 MD Healthcare Commission fee ($486) effective July 1, 2013 (LMT). Reactivation fee: $350 (RMP); $350 plus $36 MD Healthcare Commission fee ($386) effective July 1, 2013  (LMT). Reinstatement fee: $650 (RMP) or $650 plus $36 MD Healthcare Commission fee ($686) effective July 1, 2013 (LMT).

CEUs Required 24 every 2 years (3 professional ethics/jurisprudence, 3 communicable diseases including HIV/AIDs, 17 massage technique(s) related and 1 hour in diversity or cultural competency)
Massachusetts
Close
Massachusetts
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 8,323
Phone (617) 727-3074
Website http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/mt/index.htm
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 650 hours
Written or Practical Exam N/A
Exam Administered N/A
Renewal Fee $150/yr
CEUs Required N/A
Massage Liability Insurance Required
Massachusetts Massage Liability Insurance Massachusetts Massage Liability Insurance
Michigan
Close

Michigan

 Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 521

*Note: The Michigan Board of Massage Therapy began licensing massage therapists on Feb. 12, 2013.

Phone (517) 335-0918
Website www.michigan.gov/healthlicense
Title Massage Therapist 
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered MBLEx, NCETM or NCETMB
Renewal Fee $225 every 3 years 
CEUs Required 18 every 3 years
Minnesota
Close
Minnesota
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: N/A
Phone (651) 201-3731 
Web Site

www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hop/ocap/index.html

Title Freedom of Access laws in effect. Contact state or local entity for information.
Type of Credential N/A
Required Education N/A
Written or Practical Exam N/A/
Exam Administered N/A
Renewal Fee N/A
CEUs Required N/A
Mississippi
Close
Mississippi
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 2,116
Phone (601) 732-6038
Website http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us/msbmt/msbmt.nsf
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Licensed
Required Education 700 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written (MS law allows for practical as well)
Exam Administered NCETMB, MBLEx or the Mississippi State Pre-Licensing Examination (MSPLE)
Renewal Fee $200 every 2 years (every other May 31st)
CEUs Required 12 per year, or 24 at 2-year renewal period, consisting of: 3 Mississippi law; 3 Mississippi-approved ethics; 18 general with a maximum of 5 per year or 10 per 2-year renewal period of distance learning (home study or online).
Missouri
Close
Missouri
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 4,673
Phone (573) 522-6277
Web Site http://pr.mo.gov/massage.asp
Title Licensed Massage Therapist/LMT
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCBTMB, MBLEx, NCCAOM or AMMA
Renewal Fee $100 every 2 years
CEUs Required 12 hours biennial
Massage Liability Insurance Required
Missouri Massage Liability Insurance Missouri Massage Liability Insurance
Montana
Close

Montana

 Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 1,793

Phone (406) 841-2202
Website http://www.massagetherapists.mt.gov
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education

500 hours or possess an equivalent current license, certification or registration in good standing from another state.

Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM, MBLEx or NESL
Renewal Fee $90/annual (due by Aug. 1 every year)
CEUs Required 12 CEUs every two consecutive years by the licensee renewal date on even-numbered years beginning in 2012.
Nebraska
Close
Nebraska
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 1,202
Phone (402) 471-2117 
Website http://dhhs.ne.gov/
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 1,000 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written Exam
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM, ACE or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $110 every 2 years
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years, which includes 14 hands-on programs and 3 hours ethics 
Nevada
Close
Nevada
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 3,879
Phone (775) 687-9955
Web Site http://www.massagetherapy.nv.gov
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETM, NCETMB, NESL through the NCBTMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $150 each year (online renewal now available)
CEUs Required 12 each year
New Brunswick
Close
New Brunswick
Number of credentialed practitioners in this province: 182
Phone (855) 642-2662
Website www.nbma-amnb.ca
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Registration
Required Education Minimum 2,200 hours
Written or Practical Exam Oral and Practical (if required)
Exam Administered Administered by the New Brunswick Massotherapy Association (NBMA) Standards and Examinations Committee
Renewal Fee CAN $444 (includes Harmonized Sales Tax and insurance premium)
CEUs Required 32 every 3 years
New Hampshire
Close
New Hampshire
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 2,000
Phone (603) 271-9254
Website www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/blc/massage
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 750 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $100 every 2 years
CEUs Required 12 every 2 years
New Jersey
Close
New Jersey
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 3,011
Phone (973) 504-6520
Website www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/massage
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Certification
Required Education

500 hours

NJAC 13:37-16.4 (d) A course of study in massage, bodywork and somatic therapy shall include:

I. Anatomy/Physiology/Pathophysiology: 100 hours; 2. Ethics and Law: eight hours; 3. Theory and Practice: 225 hours; 4. Electives directly related to the practice of massage, bodywork and somatic therapy: 70 hours; and 5. Clinical practice: 100 hours, which:

i. Shall consist of at least 90 hours spent working on members of the public;

ii. Shall consist of no more than 10 hours spent working on other students, faculty or school staff; and

iii. Is supervised by a faculty member who is present on-site while services are being performed.

Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or NCCAOM
Renewal Fee $120 every 2 years
CEUs Required

10 every year OR 20 every 2-year licensing renewal cycle

New Mexico
Close
New Mexico
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 3,360
Phone (505) 476-4870 
Web Site www.rld.state.nm.us
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 650 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $125 every 2 years
CEUs Required 16 every 2 years
New York
Close
New York
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 17,262
Phone (518) 474-3817, ext. 150
Web Site http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/mt
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 1,000 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered State exam
Renewal Fee $103 every 3 years
CEUs Required 36 hours of continuing education every 3 years
Newfoundland-Labrador
Close
Newfoundland/Labrador
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 165
Phone (709) 739-7181
Website http://www.nlmtb.ca
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Registration
Required Education 2,200 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written and Practical
Exam Administered CMTNL Exam
Renewal Fee (CAN) $400 per year
CEUs Required 30 every 3 years
North Carolina
Close
North Carolina
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 8,029
Phone (919) 546-0050
Website http://www.bmbt.org
Title Massage and Bodywork Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered MBLEx, ABTE; NCETMB accepted if taken prior to Dec. 31, 2010. Applicants are also required to take and complete the Board's Jurisprudence Learning Exercise on North Carolina laws, rules and ethics before a license is issued.
Renewal Fee $100 every 2 years
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years
North Dakota
Close
North Dakota
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 657
Phone (701) 872-4895
Web Site http://www.ndboardofmassage.com
Title Licensed Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 750 hours in specific classes
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $100 each year ($50 late fee)
CEUs Required 32 hours of CEUs every two years; 12 hrs. can be online
Nova Scotia
Close
Nova Scotia
Number of credentialed practitioners in this province: 800
Phone (902) 429-2190
Web Site www.mtans.ca
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Registration
Required Education 2,200 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written and practical
Exam Administered Four times a year
Renewal Fee CAN $400 every year
CEUs Required 20 every 2 years
Ohio
Close
Ohio
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 24,083
Phone (614) 466-3934
Website http://www.med.ohio.gov
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 750 hours, and a minimum of 9 months of schooling
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered MBLEx
Renewal Fee $100 every 2 years
CEUs Required 0
Ontario
Close
Ontario
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 10,862
Phone (416) 489-2626
Web Site

http://www.cmto.com/

http://www.omta.com/

Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Registration
Required Education 2 to 3 years full time
Written or Practical Exam Written and Practical 
Exam Administered OSCE and MCQ 
Renewal Fee

$565.60 a year for general certificate  and $171.70 for an inactive certificate. 

 

**Starting in January 2014, $571 a year for a general certificate and $173 for an inactive certificate.**

CEUs Required 30 every 3 years
Oregon
Close
Oregon
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 7,164
Phone (503) 365-8657
Website http://www.oregon.gov/OBMT
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written and Practical
Exam Administered MBLEx, NCETMB, NCETM, State Practical Exam and Laws Exam, and CESI (Certification Examination for Structural Integration)
Renewal Fee $150 every 2 years (active); $50 (inactive)
CEUs Required 25 every 2 years, which must include proof of current CPR
Pennsylvania
Close

Pennsylvania

Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: N/A

Phone (717) 783-7155
Web Site

http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/state_board_of_massage_therapy/12529

Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education

600 hours

Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM, NESL or the MBLEx
Renewal Fee $75/every 2 years
CEUs Required 24/every 2 years
Rhode Island
Close
Rhode Island
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 991
Phone (401) 222-2828 
Web Site http://www.health.ri.gov
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Certification
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $65 each year
CEUs Required 0
South Carolina
Close
South Carolina
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 4,355
Phone (803) 896-4588
Web Site http://llronline.com/POL/MassageTherapy
Title Massage/Bodywork
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $75 for this renewal period, which is for two years
CEUs Required 12 every 2 years
South Dakota
Close
South Dakota
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 730
Phone (605) 224-1721
Website http://doh.sd.gov/boards/massage/
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCE, NCETM (when contacting the NCBTMB, ask to take the NESL), NBCA Massage Therapy Certification Exam from the American Medical Massage Association or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $45 each year
CE Hours Required 8 every 2 years
Massage Liability Insurance Required
South Dakota Massage Liability Insurance South Dakota Massage Liability Insurance
Tennessee
Close
Tennessee
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 4,347
Phone (615) 253-2111
Website http://health.state.tn.us/boards/massage
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $185 every 2 years
CEUs Required 25 every 2 years. (Beginning, Jan. 1, 2013, only eight hours of home study/online courses will be accepted each CE cycle.)
Texas
Close
Texas
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 26,347
Phone(512) 834-6616
Web Sitehttp://www.dshs.state.tx.us/massage
TitleMassage Therapist
Type of CredentialLicense
Required Education500 hours
Written or Practical ExamWritten
Exam AdministeredNCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee$106 every 2 years
CEUs Required12 every 2 years
Utah
Close
Utah
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 6,225
Phone (801) 530-6628
Web Site http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/massage_therapy.html
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License and Apprentice
Required Education 600 hours for LMT/ 1,000 hours and apprenticeship for AMT
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM, NESL or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $52 every 2 years for massage therapists/$20 every 2 years for massage apprentices
CEUs Required 0 (Note: There is legislation pending on continuing education requirements for renewal. Will provide further updates when available.)
Virginia
Close
Virginia
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 6,679
Phone (804) 367-4515 
Website http://www.dhp.virginia.gov
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential Certification
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $70 every 2 years
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years
Washington
Close
Washington
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 11,333
Phone (360) 236-4700
Website http://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/MassageTherapist.aspx
Title Massage Practitioner
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours in addition to certification in American Red Cross first aid and American Heart Association CPR or the equivalent
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $81 each year
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years
Washington D.C.
Close
Washington, D.C.
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 788
Phone (877) 672-2174
Website www.hpla.doh.dc.gov
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $177 every 2 years (and $50 criminal background check)
CEUs Required

12 every 2 years, consisting of the following:

(a) Three hours of professional ethics; and

(b) Nine hours of massage-related course work provided by a board-approved provider, of which six hours shall be completed in a live classroom setting taught by an appropriate instructor.

West Virginia
Close
West Virginia
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 1,164
Phone (304) 558-1060
Web Site http://www.wvmassage.org
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM, NCBTMB Entry Level State Licensure Exam or MBLEx
Renewal Fee $200 every 2 years
CEUs Required 24 every 2 years (3 of which must be in ethics)
Wisconsin
Close
Wisconsin
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 5,727
Phone (608) 266-2112
Web Site dsps.wi.gov
Title Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist
Type of Credential License
Required Education 600 hours
Written or Practical Exam Written
Exam Administered NCETMB, NCETM, MBLEx or the NCCAOM and Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination. Also will need to pass CPR/automated external defibrillators (AED) certification program.
Renewal Fee $82 every two years ($75 is the initial credential fee). If renewing late, there is a $25 late fee added for a total of $107
CEUs Required 0
Massage Liability Insurance Required
Wisconsin Massage Liability Insurance Wisconsin Massage Liability Insurance