SILVER SPRING, MD March 20, 2009 — The American Herbal Products Association (AHPA) welcomes nine returning and one new member to the association’s Board of Trustees and congratulates the officers elected by their peers during the March 5 Board meeting in Anaheim, Calif.

The Board voted to re-elect Edward J. Fletcher, president, Strategic Sourcing, as Chair and Vitality Works’ Mitch Coven as Treasurer. Traditional Medicinal’s Katie Huggins was newly elected as Vice Chair, and Gordon Walker of Nature’s Way will serve as Secretary.

Joining in the vote for the officers were the nine members re-elected by their AHPA peers: Greg Tilford (Animal Essentials), Kay Wright (The Hain Celestial Group), Sara Katz (Herb Pharm), Beth Lambert (Herbalist & Alchemist), Lyra Heller (Metagenics), Michael Lelah (NOW Foods), Staci Eisner (PlusPharma), Katie Huggins (Traditional Medicinals) and Mitch Coven (Vitality Works).

Sabinsa Corporation’s Shaheen Majeed was newly elected to the Board by the AHPA membership. “I’m happy that I can finally give back to the industry and bring the voices of our employees, scientists and farmers to the table,” he told AHPA.

“The diversity and depth of the association’s membership is well represented in the 2009 Board of Trustees,” said AHPA President Michael McGuffin. “I look forward to working with this outstanding group of individuals as we continue the good work done under the leadership of these officers in 2008 and address problems old and new with the insight of the entire Board.”

Following is the AHPA Board of Trustees for 2009:

Edward Fletcher, Chair, Strategic Sourcing

Monzur Ahmed, Neways International

Cindy Angerhofer, Aveda Corporation

Mitchell Coven, Vitality Works

Rupa Das, BI Nutraceuticals

Staci Eisner, PlusPharma, Inc.

Daniel Gagnon, Herbs, Etc.

Jackie Greenfield, Gaia Herbs

Lyra Heller, Metagenics, Inc.

Katie Huggins, Traditional Medicinals

Sara Katz, Herb Pharm

Richard Kaufman, Paragon Laboratories

William Keller, PhD, Nature’s Sunshine Products

Beth Lambert, Herbalist & Alchemist

Wilson Lau, Nuherbs Company

Michael Lelah, NOW Foods

Shaheen Majeed, Sabinsa Corporation

Tom Newmark, New Chapter, Inc.

Matt Redd, A.M. Todd Company

Beth Poleski, GNC

Greg Tilford, Animal Essentials, Inc.

Gordon Walker, Nature’s Way Products

Kay Wright, Hain Celestial

Volker Wypyszyk, MB North America, Inc.

About The American Herbal Products Association

The American Herbal Products Association (AHPA) is the only national trade association devoted to herbal issues. Representing the core of the botanical trade—comprised of the finest growers, processors, manufacturers and marketers of herbal products—our mission is to promote the responsible commerce of herbal products. AHPA committees generate self-regulations to ensure the highest level of quality with respect to the way herbal products are manufactured, labeled, and sold. Website: