The Alliance for Massage Therapy Education, in collaboration with Biofreeze and Bon Vital’, is now accepting applications for its 2014 Educators of the Year awards. Two awards will be given: one for a teacher in a school setting and one for a continuing education provider.

The Alliance for Massage Therapy Education (AFMTE) recently published its “Core Competencies for Massage Therapy Teachers” document as part of its National Teacher Education Standards Project. This document includes 10 standards, each of which describe the knowledge, skills and attitudes that form the basis for effective and successful teaching.

As part of this, the AFMTE has also established the Educators of the Year Award (one for a teacher in a school setting and one for a continuing education provider). This award honors excellence in massage and bodywork education and serves to foster a culture that supports raising the standards of excellence in massage and bodywork education. The recipients are chosen based on their experience, teacher training taken and how well they meet the core competency standards.

Each nominee is required to complete an application and return it on or before May 31, 2014. Educators can directly apply or be nominated by a colleague. Winners will be announced and contacted directly on July 15, 2014.

Each winner will receive the following:

  • One-year membership in the AFMTE
  • One free registration to the 2015 AFMTE Educational Congress
  • $1,000 stipend (for travel, lodging and miscellaneous expenses) to be reimbursed at the conference
  • Award
  • More than $500 in free product packages from Biofreeze & Bon Vital’, featuring their top product lines (retail value approximately $250 each)
  • A slot in the panel discussion at the 2015 Educational Congress

Last year’s winners were Elaine Stillerman, a continuing education provider, and David Lauterstein,  a teacher.