checkvoteEvanston, Ill.—The American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) announces the results of its 2014 national election, conducted electronically among its professional members. Nathan Nordstrom of Georgia was voted President-Elect. He will serve in that position from March 1, 2015, through February 29, 2016, when he will assume the position of President. On March 1, 2015, current President-Elect, Jeff W. Smoot of Oklahoma, will become AMTA President.
S. Pualani Gillespie (Hawaii) was elected Vice President and will serve a two-year term beginning March 1, 2015.
Three Members-at-Large of the Board of Directors also were elected: Maureen Patricia Hoock (Missouri), Ed Sansbury (North Carolina) and Hailey Lynn Strampel (Colorado).
Patricia D. Collins (New York) and Barbara Lis (Indiana) were elected to the Commission on Candidacy and will coordinate the candidate search for the 2015 national AMTA election. 
A report on election results is available for AMTA members. (Members must log in to view the report.) Photos of those elected to the Board of Directors also soon will be available on the AMTA website at
American Massage Therapy Association logoAbout the American Massage Therapy Association
The American Massage Therapy Association is the largest nonprofit, professional association for massage therapists, massage students and massage schools.  The association is directed by volunteer leadership elected by the membership and fosters ongoing member involvement through its 51 chapters. AMTA works to advance the profession through ethics and standards, the promotion of fair and consistent licensing of massage therapists in all states, and public education on the benefits of massage. The association actively promotes its members to the public and potential employers.