The American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) has awarded its 2012 Jerome Perlinski Teacher of the Year award to massage educator David Lauterstein, co-director at the Lauterstein-Conway Massage School in Austin, Texas.

“Each year, AMTA presents the Jerome Perlinski award to an instructor in a member school who demonstrates exceptional teaching abilities and commitment to high standards of education in massage therapy,” reads a statement on AMTA’s website.

Lauterstein has practiced massage therapy since 1977, according to a press release from his school.

He is the author of Putting the Soul Back in the Body and The Deep Massage Book, as well as articles in national and international magazines. He also composed the CD for massage, Roots and Branches. In 2011 Lauterstein was named to the Massage Therapy Hall of Fame.

He teaches at the Lauterstein-Conway Massage School as well as in workshops throughout the U.S. and the U.K. Lauterstein specializes in teaching the advanced modalities of Deep Massage: The Lauterstein Method and Zero Balancing.