Jeff W. Smoot, a massage therapist with more than 21 years’ experience in the massage profession, was voted new president-elect of the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA), the association announced Dec. 13.

Smoot, of Elk City, Oklahoma, practices techniques including myofascial release; deep-tissue, pregnancy, Swedish and sports massage; trigger-point therapy and reiki. He will serve in the position of president-elect from March 1, 2014, through Feb. 28, 2015, when he will assume the position of president. Smoot’s election was among the results of AMTA’s 2013 national election, conducted electronically among its professional members.

On March 1, 2014, current president-elect, Nancy Porambo, will become AMTA president. Kathie Lea and Dolly Wallace were elected vice presidents and will serve two-year terms beginning March 1, 2014.

John Lauren Combe, Glyn Desmond and Joan Nichols were elected to the position of members-at-large. Suzie Lindberg, Trisha M. Pennell and Becky Schwoebel were elected to the Commission on Candidacy and will coordinate the candidate search for the 2014 national AMTA election.