Discussion of teacher-education standards, and committee and board elections were among the activities undertaken at the Alliance for Massage Therapy Education (AFMTE) Conference in Tucson, Arizona, last week.

“There is an overwhelming consensus that teacher-education standards are needed in the profession,” an AFMTE press release stated. “Small groups worked collaboratively to refine the Teacher Education Standards Project.”

Other breakouts provided participants information on educational research, communication skills, social media and busting massage myths, the press release noted.

Debra Curties, Joe Lubow, Susan Beck, Tracy Walton and Tim Herbert were elected to the AFMTE’s leadership Development Committee. Pete Whitridge, Iris Burman, Su Bibik and Cherie Sohnen-Moe were re-elected to the board of directors, while Heather Piper and Stephanie Beck were newly elected to the board of directors.

Read the press release here.