The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA), an entity that accredits massage-education institutions and programs, announced the election of four new commissioners and the re-election of three incumbents on Oct. 6.

COMTA’s 12-commissioner panel comprises people experienced in the profession of massage therapy as practitioners, administrators or employers, along with two members from the general public.

Newly elected are:

Public member: Terry W. Saltsman, Ph.D., director of information technology and chief information officer, Crosslin, Vaden & Associates, Tennessee

Commissioner-elect: Lisa Helbig, Executive Director, Institute for Therapeutic Massage and the Institute for Massage and Spa Therapy Education (IMSTE), New Jersey.

International Member, Commissioner-elect:  Wendy Joan Rigby, Instructor, West Coast College of Massage Therapy, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Commissioner-elect: Deirdre Strunk, director, Spa/Pool Operation, South Point Hotel Casino & Spa, Nevada

Incumbent commissioners returning are Gregory Y. Harris, Alan J. Kite and Joanna Sechuck-Tringali.

COMTA was established in 1989 under the auspices of the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA). COMTA’s approval function was dropped in 1997, and the group became independent of the AMTA in 2004. There are approximately 100 COMTA accredited schools and programs in the United States, Canada and the West Indies. The nonprofit organization is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.