massage therapy foundation logo_currentThe Massage Therapy Foundation (MTF) is pleased to announce that the John Hancock Non-Profit Marathon Program has granted us with three invitational entries (bibs) for the 2016 Boston Marathon.  

MTF is looking for three qualified runners to be a part of the Team MTF-Running for Research. The selected runners will have a chance to participate in an event of a lifetime as well as raise money for the Massage Therapy Foundation. This is not an opportunity to be missed. Team MTF will be running in one of the world’s largest marathons.

Last year’s team consisted of three massage therapists; John Combe, Nathan Nordstrom, and Angie Parris-Raney. All three runners finished the race and raised over $43,200 for the profession.

Massage Therapy Foundation President, Jerrilyn Cambron, L.M.T., D.C., M.P.H., Ph.D., states, “We are so excited to be given the opportunity to participate once again in such an amazing program. We had an incredible team last year, and I am looking forward to finding out who the 2016 runners will be.”

For 30 years, John Hancock has been the principal sponsor of the Boston Marathon. Each year John Hancock donates guaranteed running spots in the prestigious Boston Marathon to select non-profits, which recruit runners to raise money for their causes.  

Last year, marathon participants ran on behalf of more than 200 non-profit organizations and raised $28.3 million for charity in the 119th running of the Boston Marathon. This includes $15.6 million raised through the Boston Athletic Association’s Official Charity Program, $10.6 million raised through the John Hancock Non-Profit Marathon Program, and $2.1 million raised by qualified and other invitational runners.

The Boston Marathon is a world class event that brings together runners from around the world. The 2016 race will take place on Monday, April 18.

Applications for Team MTF-Running for Research runners are now available on the Massage Therapy Foundation website. The application deadline is November 15, 2015.