The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB), creator of the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination, a state licensing exam for massage therapists, met recently in Nashville, Tennessee, where new officers were elected.

Representatives from 30 state licensing boards and agencies, schools, and national businesses and professional associations were in attendance.

The Federation’s mission is to “support its member boards in their work of public protection, improve communication between states, and offer prospects for enhanced licensing reciprocity for the ultimate benefit of safe massage and bodywork practice protecting consumers.”

The delegate assembly, comprised of FSMTB member boards, elected:

• Dennis Beye, L.M.T., chair of the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy, and Jane Johnson, L.M.T., chair of the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy, to serve on the board of directors.

• Kevin Snedden, L.M.T., chair of the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage, was elected to serve as president.

• Susan Beam, L.M.B.T., member at large of the North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy, was elected as treasurer.

• Phyllis Salyers, L.M.T., and chair of the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board, will fulfill the one-year position vacated by Patty Glenn, L.M.P./L.M.T., and executive director of the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists.

FSMTB Board of Directors

President: Kevin Snedden, chair, Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage

Vice President: Kathy Jensen, chair, Iowa Board of Massage Therapy

Treasurer: Susan Beam, former chair, North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy

Director: Dennis Beye, chair, Arizona State board of Massage Therapy

Director: Jane Johnson, chair, Georgia Board of Massage Therapy

Director: Scott Miller, chair, Washington Board of Massage

Director: Phyllis Salyers, chair, Tennessee Massage Licensure Board

Ex-Officio: Debra Persinger, FSMTB executive director