Evanston, IL – March 1, 2010 – The Massage Therapy Foundation Board of Trustees is proud to announce that Ruth Werner of Layton,  Utah is their newly elected President. Werner’s term as President will be from March, 1, 2010 through February 28, 2012.  

Werner has been a trustee with the Foundation since March 2006, most recently serving as President-elect. She serves on several Foundation committees, and in 2009 under her leadership the Education Committee launched a new program, “Teaching Research Literacy: An In-Service Event for Teachers,” which provides a continuing education opportunity for massage therapy educators and schools.

Werner is a massage therapist, writer, and educator with a passionate interest in massage research and the role of bodywork for people who struggle with health. Her groundbreaking textbook, A Massage Therapist’s Guide to Pathology was first published in 1998; keeping it current is now her main occupation. In addition, she writes a column for Massage and Bodywork magazine and teaches continuing education workshops all over the country. She has volunteered for the Utah Department of Public Licensing, the AMTA, the National Certifying Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, and the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards. Ruth was extremely honored to be selected for the AMTA Council of Schools Teacher of the Year Award for 2005.

Werner will succeed Diana Thompson, who served as President of the Massage Therapy Foundation since March 2006.  Thompson will remain on the Board of Trustees and will serve as Immediate Past President.

The Massage Therapy Foundation is a 501(c)3 public charity, with a mission to advance the knowledge and practice of massage therapy by supporting scientific research, education, and community service.  For more information on the Foundation, please visit www.massagetherapyfoundation.org.
# # #
Colleen Leeders, Foundation Manager