The State West Virginia Massage Therapist Requirements
Throughout the 24,230 square miles of the Mountain State, approximately 1,027 massage therapists work to help the more than 1.7 million people in their state find relief from pain, rehabilitation from injuries, and comfort in the midst of stress and anxiety.
With 48,006 people in Charleston, 46,667 people in Huntington, and 30,021 people in Parkersburg, massage therapists who work in West Virginia can find an engaged environment to open, continue, or join a massage therapy business.
How Do I Become A Massage Therapist in West Virginia?
If you’re ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in West Virginia, you must register with the West Virginia Massage Therapy Licensure Board. The registration fee is $50. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board. If you do not register, you will be working illegally and can receive a fine.
In order to receive this license, you must complete a minimum of 500 hours from an approved massage therapy program and be certified in CPR and First Aid.
You can find application request forms on their website.
Where Can I Study?
Below are two approved schools in West Virginia to help you get started on what you may be looking for in a massage therapy education.
- Mountain State School of Massage: With a benchmark of “a high degree of professionalism, advanced career training and educational diversity,” this school is accredited by the COMTA. Its mission is to teach holistic healing methods with a healthy, balanced team.
- Art and Science Institute of Cosmetology and Massage Therapy: Students at this school not only become qualified LMTs, but also surpass the expectations of a “normal, just graduated student.” Many graduates are qualified in many services, especially those in the spa settings.