The 2011 World Massage Festival was held at Western Carolina University July 14-17, and was attended by more than 500 people.

Each year the festival organizers choose people and organizations in the massage profession to receive awards and be inducted in the festival’s Massage Therapy Hall of Fame

This year’s award winners were:

• Association of the Year: Association Bodywork & Massage Professionals

• Teacher of the Year: Susan Salvo

• Institution of the Year: Massage Therapy Foundation

• School of the Year: Boulder College of Massage Therapy

• Legislative Award: Laura Allen

• Massage Media Award: Ryan Hoyme

• Meritorius Service: Vivian Madison Mahoney

• Founder’s Award: Judi Calvert

• Auntie Margaret Humanitarian Award: Darcy Neibaur

• The Keith Schaeffer Memorial Scholarship: Emma Clites

• Charlotte Hooten Memorial Scholarship: Temple Stewart

• Rocky Mountain School of Animal Massage Scholarship: Nancy Glennon

• Product of the Year: ROM-T Tables

Inducted into the festival’s Massage Therapy Hall of Fame for 2011 were:

• Laura Allen

• Judith Aston

• Robert Benson

• Leon Chaitow

• Gloria Coppola

• Jonathon Goldman

• Joseph Heller

• Deane Juhan

• David Lauterstein

• Karen Lay

• Whitney Lowe

• Michael McGillicuddy

• Tom Owens

• Richard Rossiter

• Susan Salvo

• Margie Schaeffer

• Anita Shannon

• Lynda Solien-Wolfe

• Carey Smith

• Jack Thomas

• Diana Thompson

• Lynn and Peter Wind


• Leslie Young

Pat Donohue was honored with the 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award.