LEXINGTON, KY (Sept. 20, 2017) – The International SPA Association (ISPA) is pleased to announce the 2018 ISPA Board of Directors and officers. Their terms will begin on October 18, 2017, at the ISPA Conference & Expo at Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas.

“We are grateful for the dedication of those that step up each year and apply to serve their association,” said ISPA President Lynne McNees. “We appreciate the volume of applicants and are incredibly excited to welcome the new board members to an already exceptional group of strong leaders serving the spa industry.”

The ISPA Board of Directors will be led by elected Chairman Todd Shaw, spa director at The Peaks Resort & Spa. Todd Hewitt, corporate director spa, health clubs and recreation, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, was elected to serve as Vice Chairman and Garrett Mersberger, director of wellness and Kohler Water Spas, Kohler Co., will serve as Secretary/Treasurer. Michael Tompkins, executive recruiter, Hutchinson Consulting, will continue to serve in the Immediate Past Chairman role.

Newly Elected Board Members:

  • Damien Craft, senior spa director North America, Four Seasons Westlake Village
  • Brennan Evans, vice president spa operations, Trilogy Spa Holdings
  • Kelleye Heydon, spa director, The Edgewater Spa

Re-elected Incumbent Directors:

  • Kristine Huffman, president, Huffman Hospitality Concepts
  • Laura Parsons, director of operations, The Americas, ESPA International US, LTD. (Spa Division)
  • Eric Stephenson, director of education, Well World Group

Frank Pitsikalis, founder and chief executive officer, ResortSuite, and Sharilyn Abbajay, founder, Abbajay & Associates LLC, will continue to serve in their roles on the ISPA Foundation Board of Directors as Chairman and Vice Chairman, respectively. 

These individuals will join the current directors who are in the middle of an active board term including: Noel Asmar, president and chief executive officer, Noel Asmar Group, Inc.; Scott Duncan, president, Spa Gregorie’s; Blake Feeney, vice president – business development, Living Earth Crafts; Patrick Huey, group spa director – Asia, Minor Hotel Group; Julie Oliff, director of operations – residences, St. Regis Aspen; Robert Vance, managing director, Well & Being Spa at the Fairmont Princess; and Lynne McNees, president, ISPA. Dr. Brent Bauer, director of complementary and integrative medicine program, Mayo Clinic, will continue to serve as ISPA’s medical advisor.

Michael Harmsworth and Dawn Tardif complete their service on the ISPA Board of Directors. The ISPA Board of Directors is indebted to Michael, Dawn and all ISPA volunteers for their contributions and dedication to the spa industry.

Each person was selected from an impressive pool of candidates following an extensive nomination and interview process. The application process for the 2019 ISPA Board of Directors will launch in Spring 2018. At that time, a call for candidates will be announced to all ISPA members. Currently, ISPA members may participate in the association’s growth and success by applying to serve on the 2018 ISPA Volunteer Committee. The application will open in late 2017.