afmte logo

The Alliance for Massage Therapy Education (AFMTE) announces that all members of the 2020 slate have been acclaimed on either the Board of Directors (BOD) or the Leadership Development Committee (LDC).

The Board slate includes Sandy Mason, Gini Ohlson, Shari Aldrich and Andrew Jurdan. The LDC Slate was Debra Curites and Joe Lubow. The slates were developed by the Leadership Development Committee. These officials will take office on September 1, 2020, in accord with Alliance bylaws. Slate member profiles are available here at the Alliance website.

This year the Board terms for Virginia Cowen and Dawn Hogue ended and they chose not to run for re-election, creating two vacancies on the AFMTE Board. The term for Sandy Mason expired, and she was nominated by the LDC. A Board member, Terrie Yardley-Nohr, resigned in February 2020 for personal reasons, and the President appointed Gini Ohlson to fill that seat. The LDC asked the membership to ratify that appointment as part of this summer’s election. The LDC nominated Shari Aldrich and Andrew Jurdan to fill the outgoing vacancies.

Two LDC positions were available this year, and incumbents Debra Curties and Joe Lubow were nominated and affirmed by the LDC for this year’s slate. 

“We are saddened to lose two talented and productive members of the board (Virginia and Dawn) but are thrilled to welcome Shari and Andrew as incoming board members. We also appreciate the continued collaboration with Sandy and Gini. Retaining Debra and Joe on the LDC reassures the continued sage leadership of the LDC. Thank you, members, for your wise choices,” says AFMTE President Stan Dawson.

About the Alliance for Massage Therapy Education

The Alliance for Massage Therapy Education’s mission is to serve as an independent voice, advocate and resource for the therapeutic massage and bodywork education community. The Alliance may be contacted at P.O. Box 40014, Tucson, AZ 85717. The phone number is (520) 329-2627, the general office email address is, and the website is