AFMTE logo

Are you the next AFMTE, Biofreeze, Bon Vital’ Educator of the Year?

The Alliance for Massage Therapy Education (AFMTE) has announced that they are now accepting applications for the 2017 Educators of the Year Awards.

The Alliance published the NTESP Core Competencies for Massage Therapy Teachers in 2013. This document includes 10 standards, each of which describe the knowledge, skills and attitudes that form the basis of effective and successful teaching. As part of this, the AFMTE, Biofreeze and Bon Vital’ established the Educators of the Year Awards—one for a teacher in a school setting and one for a continuing education provider. This award honors excellence in massage and bodywork education and serves to foster a culture that supports raising the standards of excellence in massage and bodywork education. The recipients are chosen based on their experience, teacher training taken, and how well they meet the core competency standards.

Each nominee is required to complete an application and return it on or before April 15, 2017. Educators can directly apply or be nominated by a colleague.

Winners will be announced and contacted directly on June 1, 2017.


Each winner receives the following:

  • 1-year Teacher or CE Provider Membership in the AFMTE
  • One free registration to the 2017 AFMTE Educational Congress
  • A Crystal Apple Award
  • $1,000 stipend (for travel, lodging and miscellaneous expenses) to be reimbursed at the conference
  • Over $250 in free product packages from Biofreeze and BonVital’, featuring their top product lines

Previous winners may be viewed on the AFMTE website:


About the Alliance for Massage Therapy Education

The Alliance for Massage Therapy Education serves as an independent voice, advocate and resource for the massage therapy and bodywork education community. Our mission is to support, strengthen, and elevate educational practices and standards in massage therapy and bodywork. The Alliance may be contacted at P.O. Box 40014, Tucson, AZ 85717. The phone number is (855) 236-8331; the general office email address is; and the website is