Louisiana State Flag

The State of Louisiana Massage Therapist Requirements

Throughout the 52,271 square miles of the Pelican State, approximately 2,100 massage therapists work to help the more than 4.6 million people in their state find relief from pain, rehabilitation from injuries, and comfort in the midst of stress and anxiety.

With 384,320 people in New Orleans, 228,895 people in Baton Rouge, and 198,242 people in Shreveport, massage therapists who work in Louisiana can find an engaged environment to open, continue, or join a massage therapy business.

How Do I Become A Massage Therapist in Louisiana?

If you’re ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in Louisiana, you must register with the Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy. The application fee is $75. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board. If you do not register, you will be working illegally and can receive a fine.

In order to receive this license, you must complete a minimum of 500 hours from an approved massage therapy program and pass a national massage licensing examination within two years from the date the application is filled.

You can find application request forms on their website.

Where Can I Study?

The Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy approves massage therapy programs with the following: 325 hours of massage therapy techniques and clinical, 125 hours of anatomy and physiology, 50 hours of related coursework (business and ethics, first aid certification).

Below are two approved schools in Louisiana to help you get started on what you may be looking for in a massage therapy education.

  • LA Institute of Massage Therapy: Operated by massage therapists since 1987, LIMT was one of the first massage schools to be licensed by the state of Louisiana, and the first to provide continuing education classes. The LIMT massage therapy program is licensed and/or approved by LA State Board of Regents, Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards, National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, Louisiana State Board of Massage Therapy, and the Louisiana Division of Vocational Rehabilitation.
  • Medical Training College: At MTC, national and state tests fees, books and more are included in tuition. MTC is committed to providing students with “a solid education taught by a qualified, experienced, professional teaching staff.” Students will learn about techniques such as Swedish massage, sports massage, body wraps, reflexology, and more.

Other education options include Moore Career College and Blue Cliff College.

How Much Will I Earn?

The average annual wage of a massage therapist in Louisiana was $37,550 in 2014. This is on the lower side of state earnings, with the average national salary at $41,790. However, massage therapists who work in Baton Rouge have the opportunity to earn a higher salary, with the average for this city at $44,910 annually.